This week was self-directed study week. As I booked the week off work, I made the most of this time and finished my story.

FMP Scenes (1)

Although I found it tough to write about this subject, I feel that I wrote respectfully and to a high standard.

I am very happy with the way my story turned out and I learnt a lot, both as a writer and as a teenager.

For this piece, I took a lot of inspiration from books such as Devils Knot- The true story of the West Memphis Three By Mara Leveritt, In Cold Blood by Truman Capote, No Easy Answers: The Truth Behind Death at Columbine by Brooks Brown and Rob Merritt.

For example, in No Easy Answers, the story is told from the point of view from someone who was actually there. Brooks Brown, former friend of Columbine shooters Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold, tells the tale from his eyes and what he personally experienced.

I’m alone on a staircase outside Columbine High School in Littleton, Colorado.

This spot is a quiet one, bordered by concrete recesses that merge into a sidewalk

leading up toward the math wing. I’ve stood here many times before; this place was

always secluded enough for me to get in one last quick drag before an administrator

would yell at me to quit smoking on school grounds.

This is the opening to the book and starts off with a description and a personal link. He describes the actions taken place at the location instead of over describing it. I took this writing style into consideration when writing my piece.

When writing, I reread every scene after writing it to make sure I had correctly portrayed what I had aimed to do. When I felt that I had lost a scene, I left it and began writing another until I found inspiration for the former scene.

I feel that throughout this writing process, my skills regarding syntax have improved. I now look at a sentence and identify the nouns, verbs etc and debate if there are alternate synonyms or sentence structures that could be better suited.

Overall, I am very proud of my work and I feel that I understand the true crime genre a lot better now.

 

No Easy Answers- Brooks Brown & Rob Merritt. 2002, Lantern Books. 

Devil’s Knot- Mara Leveritt. 2003, Atria Books.

In Cold Blood- Truman Capote. 1965, Vintage Books. 

