This week, we worked through this PowerPoint. fmp-week-2 (1)

However, as I had already done most of this work, I spent the time re-editing my Project Proposal and Pitch which is linked here.

I also spent the week researching. Through this, I found out I knew more about True Crime novels than I thought.

I remembered a Movie I watched a while ago based on the case of the West Memphis Three.

On May 5th 1993, three 8 year-old boys, Stevie Branch, Christopher Byers and James Michael Moore, went missing. The next day, Police found the boys’ mutilated bodies in a nearby river.

In 1994, Jessie Misskelly, 17, Jason Baldwin, 16 and Damien Echols, 18, were sentenced for the murders of Branch, Byers and Moore, with Echols being sentenced to death.

This is one of the most controversial cases in history, with conflicting evidence proving their innocence. As of 2011, Misskelly, Baldwin and Echols are now free due to help from celebrities such as Johnny Depp, protesting their innocence.

The film I watched about the case was called Devil’s Knot and starred Colin Firth and Reese Witherspoon. After rewatching it this week, I have noticed little details in how they told the story. Whilst they told all the facts, they also included several scenes that have not been confirmed to have happened, yet are not so unbelievable that they could be considered outright lies. However, it is considered a ‘dramatized version of the events.’

Baldwin said, ‘I went through the script with a fine-tooth comb, page after page. The producers made changes without any fuss.’ 

So it’s confirmed that the film is reasonably trustworthy with the events of what happened.

I want the same to be said of my work, I want to tell the story of JonBenet through accounts of what happened and confirmed facts. I do want my work to be honest but dramatization may become a part of it if need be.

I have also taken inspiration from the book A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold, the mother of Columbine shooter, Dylan Klebold. The book tells her story on how she coped after the tragedy and the story of her sons life.

Over the week, I feel as though my horizons have broadened, if that makes sense, regarding how I want to do my FMP.

For primary research, I have created a survey on SurveyMonkey which you can complete here. 

I have chosen to do a survey focusing on the method for researching true crime as then I can get an insight into which is the most popular and I can then incorporate into my own work.

The past week has definitely made me think about what I’m doing and why I’m doing it. All I can hope is that I do JonBenet justice by keeping her memory alive.

