This week, we began on our Final Major Project. We were introduced the project and our criteria through a Powerpoint presentation.

The Presentation talked us through our own self growth and the skills we have learnt over the year as well as our likes, dislikes, fears, goals etc.

We were also told to come up with at least three ideas for our FMP and then choose one and start on our proposal.

My three ideas were:

  • Article spread of unsolved murder of JonBenet Ramsey
  • Biography of actor River Phoenix
  • Collection of short stories that are all linked (Each story would be left on a cliffhanger and at the end of the book, the reader would find out how they all intertwined, focusing on the butterfly effect.)

 

After a lot of thought, I chose to do my FMP on JonBenet Ramsey. JonBenet was a 6 year old beauty pageant queen when she was murdered in her home on Christmas Day 1996. Over 20 years later, the case still remains unsolved.

I decided on this project as I find the case very interesting and I want her memory to be honored. Although, she is yet to find justice, I hope to get her name out there and let her live on in peoples memories. I am not doing this in an effort to solve the case, but purely to remember a young girl whose life was taken from her.

At first, I was going to do my FMP in non-fiction article spread format, however, after some thought, I was unable to find a good source for Primary Research so instead, I changed it to Factual Fiction.

After talking to Greg, I was informed about the book In Cold Blood by Truman Capote which tells the story of a crime as if it was fiction.

Here is the link to my blog post with my proposal and presentation.

Inspirations so far:

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. 1966.

The Case of JonBenet Ramsey

 

