This week, we worked a lot on decluttering and attention words. We started off by refreshing our memories on essential types of words. We wrote down the definitions for the following words.

Noun- (subject) a word (other than a pronoun) used to identify any of a class of people, places, or things

Adjective- a word naming an attribute of a noun, such as sweet, red, or technical.

 

Adverb- a word or phrase that modifies the meaning of an adjective, verb, or other adverb, expressing manner, place, time, or degree (e.g. gently, here, now, very). Some adverbs, for example sentence adverbs, can also be used to modify whole sentences.

 

Verb- (doing words) a word used to describe an action, state, or occurrence, and forming the main part of the predicate of a sentence, such as hear, become, happen.

 

This definitely refreshed my memory as the last time I covered this, I was in school. I realized how important it is for us, as creatives, to fully understand what we are writing.

We then worked on attention words. These words are mainly adjectives that show and don’t tell. We worked on decluttering our work and other writers as well. We were told to sum up our stories using the six word memoir technique. Here are my results:

 

A hungry boy dies having eaten.

The lost lose their own.

Teenage terror; under every rock.

Month missing, dead a day, full stomach.

Teenagers planning a massacre in England’s front room.

Kings Woods; Terror behind every branch.

Hurt people hurt people.

 

This was difficult but really thought-provoking. It really made me think about what I was writing and how more can be less. Trying to sum up your story in six words is tough but I would definitely use it, especially for taglines.

We then had to work with Syntax. We were told to change the sentence: ‘The man ran down the road towards his house.’

Here are my best variations:

 

The delivery guy shot down the road towards the house.

The assassin slithered down the road towards the house.

 

This was a really interesting exercise as it got me thinking about describing my characters without actually describing them. Using the technique of using someones profession instead of their identity to describe them was describing the character without actually saying much. I will definitely be using this technique in the future.

Afterwards, we worked on using different words outside of what we would usually say. Using a synonym can create a different tone.

Shoes: Heels, boots, sandals, trainers,

Food: Meal, lunch, breakfast, dinner, dessert, pizza, sandwich, burger

Clothes: Attire, clothing, outfit,

By using synonyms, we are able to really set the tone for our work which I found really useful.

The website I always use for synonyms is Thesaurus.com. I have found this extremely helpful with my work as I feel it really improves it’s quality. I believe this website to be an essential to all writers.

 

 

