This term, we are working on a project called ‘The Walk.’ We have to chose an area (street, village, forest etc.) to write short stories about, fiction, non-fiction or poetry. In the chosen area, we are to chose between 5-7 landmarks to write about and then produce a leaflet.

From the moment we were told we had to choose an area, I already had Kings Wood in mind. Kings Wood is in Challock near Ashford, a place I hold very close to my heart as I spent a lot of time there as a child.

I already had several ideas of what fictional stories I wanted to write, the ideas including:

  • Young children going missing
  • Shooting range used for target practice by teenagers planning a massacre
  • Body of a woman found in early 1900s, then 100 years later, the body of another woman with the same name is found.
  • Park rangers tales

For the visual aspect, I really wanted to make the stories look real by putting them into a police report like format. I also want to include supposed mug shots of the criminals from the 2nd idea as well as crime scene photos from the missing children cases.

As for the audio, I am still stuck on the idea. I’m not exactly sure how to create an audio piece that would fit with my work and its genre. I contemplated creating an audio clip of a mother calling 999 and reporting their child had gone missing. However, I am not sure if that would’ve actually been made public if the case was real.


Also this week, we worked on rewriting stories to different genres. I chose to rewrite The Empty House by Algernon Blackwood into a children story. However, I did not get very far.

‘If I was to rewrite this piece to be more child-friendly, I would definitely change the language used to be easier for children to understand and remove unnecessary descriptive language.

I would also add humour. For example, the idea of the so called haunted house, actually being occupied by a homeless man with a gassy stomach. I got the humour idea from the children’s horror film ‘Monster House.‘ Whilst it is scary for children, it also contains a lot of humour. 

The plot would be a lot more comical and would not be extremely complex or layered so that the intended audience could understand and follow along.

The entire story would have an overall light-hearted tone, taking inspiration from writer Enid Blyton who wrote mysteries for children i.e  The Famous Five.’

 

We also worked on genre conventions. We looked at travel writing, crime, horror, sci-fi and childrens books.

The main genre that stood out to me was crime and horror as they had the most notable conventions.

For example, in many horror films the main plot goes something like that:

  • Group of friends (usually teenagers) go to isolated location (cabin in woods/haunted house etc) to get drunk and have fun. After some very basic character tropes have been shown (the nice, quiet girl aka The Final Girl. Next, the ‘slutty’ girl who has sex within the first 15 minutes of the film and is the first to get killed. Then, the Jock who acts tough and tries to defeat the evil but ends up making really dumb decisions. Finally, the goofy guy who has a thing for final girl and is there purely for comic relief.)
  • Once each of these characters have been introduced. Little things start happening, Final Girl gets scared but everyone else shrugs it off. The ‘slut’ is the first to die. The decide to split up, aka the dumbest decisions ever made and if you ever in a real life situation like this and you make one of these decisions, you are an idiot.
  • Everyone dies, Final Girl defeats the evil. The End.
  • I think I’ve just summed up 50% of horror films in two paragraphs.

The Empty House – Algernon Blackwood. 1917.

Monster House– 2006 American movie.

The Famous Five – Enid Blyton. 1942- 1963.

 

