This week, we worked on poetry and the different types. We learnt about black out poetry, which was my personal favourite as well as looking at Frank O’Hara.

We then went into Canterbury city center and looked at how homeless people live. I was able to speak to a middle aged man with a 13-year-old dog called Mana. He told me he had been on the streets before and this time it had been 2 years. He also told me the council had offered to re home him but he refused as they had told him he would have to get rid of Mana.

Speaking to him really opened my eyes and made me think a lot about how homeless people were treated. I used this as inspiration for the poem I am currently writing on the topic.

Working on my poetry skills made me apprehensive at first as poetry wasn’t something I saw myself as being good at. However I found that once I had the right inspiration, it seemed to come to me a bit more naturally.

I think that I definitely know more about poetry now and can appreciate it more. I also think that my skills will improve over time with more practice.

I looked into ‘Big Issue’ magazine which was created to help the homeless and found out they regularly publish poetry. I now know that poetry lies in places I didn’t know before and is important in this industry.

Overall, I enjoyed learning about poetry and will definitely be using black-out poetry again.

Here are some lines I came up with whilst drafting my poem about the homeless:

  • Rats with signs
  • Days turn into weeks, weeks into months
  • Reckless youth, now haggard and desperate
  • Great Britain, not so great anymore, now that we ignore our own that need help
  • A doorway could mean safety, even if just for the night
  • A generation cursed at, beaten down, gave up safety for the chance of a crown

 

Here is my finished poem:

Only twenty-one

Still a baby to many,

Lost herself in drugs and fun

Now begging for a penny.

 

Born with a silver spoon

Irony would thank her,

Now her chandelier is the moon

The princess has fallen.

 

Her liqueur was once free

But cost her life,

She called out for God

He was nothing but a lie.

 

A generation cursed at

Beaten down,

Gave up their safety

For the chance of a crown.

 

 

Evaluation:

  • I think adding in the rhyming factor definitely added to the impact of the poem. I think that with the rhyming, the poem sounds a lot more emotional and structured. It isn’t just a collection of words that have no meaning, it comes from the heart.
  • I really like the way my poem turned out and I think it was well put together. I think it could’ve been better though if I had added more to it but I didn’t want to drag it on as I didn’t have anymore line ideas. Quality over quantity.
  • Considering poetry is my strongest suit, I am happy with the way it turned out and believe it put across the emotion I intended.
  • If I were to do it again, I would do more primary research on homeless people to gain more of a insight into their lives.

 

 

References:

(Austin Kleon. Catergory for blackout poems. )

(Frank O’Hara Organisation. Writing.)

(Poetry Archive Organisation website.)

All last accessed: 28.11.16

All multiple ublished dates.

 

 

 

 

 

 

