This week, we worked on Syntax and six word memoirs.

Syntax is the use of using words in a certain order to create an affect for the audience.

We looked at how to affect our readers by using certain words and how it can create a picture for our readers.

This is called Specificity.

We also worked on six words memoirs. The art of telling a story in only six words.

Here are some of my favorites:

Here are my own creations:

  • Need to live, not just exist.
  • British born, socially raised, clinically depressed.
  • Loved him, hated him, still remembering.
  • Born ginger, dyed constantly, ginger again.

I learnt a lot this week, about both subjects.

I learnt about how much both Syntax and Specificity can affect the reader and improve the quality of your work. I will definitely be using this in my work in the future. I was able to use my new knowledge of this when it came to writing our six word memoirs.

I really enjoyed learning about six word memoirs and researching them. Having to tell a personal story in only six words was challenging.

I also learnt the real definitions of theme, genre, tone and form.

The theme of a piece of work refers to the topic or subject of a piece of writing.

A genre is a style of writing; the category it falls into.

The tone is the portrayed feeling of the piece. (Light-hearted, dark.)

The form of writing refers to the piece itself and what it contains. (Fiction, Non-fiction, poetry etc.)

Do the sentences work in the same way – does the syntax ensure the reader gets the message. Does the syntax suit tone, genre, characterisation?

I think that my syntax choices work well with the genre of my work. My current piece of work is of the crime genre. I am aiming to build up the tension as I go on writing with this piece and I think the dark tone will work well. I hope to portray Aaron in my work as the complex character I have created. I think the syntax here is achieving that so far.

Is the theme and tone – plus style and voice – come through?

So far, I think that the tone is working well with the genre. I don’t think anything I’ve written so far seems inappropriate or out of place for the genre. I hope to incorporate some of the knowledge I’ve gained from reading true crime novels regarding different writing techniques used for building tension and the process the police have to go through when dealing with different crimes.

Take a step back from your writing and look at it from the POV of a reader. Will it have the effect on the reader you wanted.

I hope it will affect the reader in the way I intended. I want them to be interested and become more emotionally invested the more I write. After analyzing my work, I believe it will have the intended effect, although I am always looking to improve my work.

 

 

References:

(Jennifer S Lee, 2008. NYTimes. Summing it up (In six words.) Last accessed: 28.11.16)

(Chuck Klosterman (Author) Wikipedia page.)

(Stephen Colbert (Author) Wikipedia page.)

(George Saunders (Author) Wikipedia page.)

 

 

 

